New Philadelphia to Charleston

Aaron Baumgardner, The University of Akron

Coming from the landlocked small town of New Philadelphia in the Midwest, I feel like I’m dreaming when I realize I’m spending my summer researching in Charleston, SC. I’m thankful for the opportunity that my mentor, the College of Charleston, and the National Science Foundation has given me to learn and grow in my scientific ability.

However, I do not believe I would be where I am today if it weren’t for my Aunt Jane. She is the only member of my family with a background in science, and even though she is hundreds of miles away at UPenn, she is always an email or phone call away. She has always shown an interest in my academics and will always be there for any advice I may ask. She has helped me develop my professionalism and offered insight on which graduate schools are worth going to.   Because of her, I can finally realize it’s not a dream. It’s reality that I’m spending my summer in Charleston, SC. It’s because I’ve worked hard in school and reached out for opportunities for me to mature as scientist. And I owe her so much for pushing me to succeed.

Thank you Aunt Jane!

Leave a Reply

